Rosalie Fairbairn

Devon Women have announced their first XI squad for the season which includes the return of Rebecca Donohue and Rosalie Fairbairn who were both absent last season.  New to the 1st XI squad is u17 player Evie Pitman, a left arm seamer who plays her club cricket at Plympton.

“It’s great to have Rebecca back, we missed a pace bowler last season and she’ll bring that extra bite we were lacking.” said Head Coach Trevor Griffin “Rosalie will bring her wealth of experience  to our squad again this season, it’s fantastic to have her back too”  continued Trevor

“Evie was invited along to our winter training and showed what an exciting bowler she is, she’s definitely one to watch for the future”

Devon Women start their Royal London Women’s One Day cup season with an away double header on May 1st at Hampshire and then Essex the following day. 

This season also sees the introduction of a new Devon Women Development XI; this will aid development of those not yet ready for the full squad and ultimately build more competition for places.

“There’s been a need for this for some time” said Manager Warren Carr “the gap between the women’s game and county age group cricket is getting bigger, and by introducing the Development Squad we’ll be able to give our fringe players additional game time at a level that will prepare them for that step up in the future” continued Warren

A number of fixtures are being arranged for the Development side which will be played on the same day as the first XI and will allow game time for any senior squad member not selected or returning from injury. 

The Development team will play their first game against Cornwall on Sunday 1st May.

Devon Women CCC – First XI squad
Jodie Dibble captain (Sidmouth), Lauren Bowden (North Devon), Amara Carr (Plympton), Lydia Clements (North Devon), Aylish Cranstone (Exeter Uni), Rebecca Donnohue (Plympton), Rosalie Fairbairn (Bovey Tracey), Hazelle Garton (Royal Navy), Lydia Harris (Ipplepen), Amanda Higginbotham (Brixham), Alli Kelly (North Devon), Sophie Mackenzie (Wadebridge), (Cait O’Keefe (Plympton), Evie Pitman (Plympton), Rebecca Silk (Eexter Uni), Claire Varcoe (Plymouth)

Devon Women CCC – Development Squad
Players already identified are:
Ellie Ingham-Hill (u17), Steph Hutchins (u17), Liv Jones (u17), Immy Beasley (u17), Libby McNally (u17), Rose Ball (u15), Maddie Hollifield (u15), Millie Squire (Filleigh CC), Annabel Squire (Filleigh CC), Eloise Maxa (u17), Lucy Walliker (u17), Becca Halliday (u15), Sophie Florides (u15), Daisy Meadowcroft (u15).
Further players will be added based on performance throughout the season.