Paignton 2ndXI captain Harry Ward (left) receiving the Aaron Printers T20 Cup from cricket official John Webber after his side defeated Dartington & Totnes by 31 runs in Friday night’s final at South Devon CC <br>credit: Conrad Sutcliffe

LUKE Medlock was the man of the match as Paignton defeated Dartington & Totnes by 31 runs in the Friday night final of the Aaron Printers Cup at South Devon CC.

Man of the match Luke Medlock after receiving his trophy from Michael HuntPaignton totted up 152 for five in their 20 overs, led by skipper Harry Ward (36), Dan Wolf (21) Medlock, who 36 in hurry off 28 balls.

Ward and Wolf put on 48 for the first wicket then Medlock joined Ward to at 54 more for the second.

Nick Dennis (3-23) and Phil Snyman (0-21) bowled the most effective four-over stints for D&T.

Paignton knew their best chance of winning the tie was to get rid of South African Snyman sooner rather than later.

Although wickets fell at one end to Tom Blundell, Cole Harford and Medlock (4-27) in a running total of 50 for four Snyman was still there.

A stand of 51 for the fifth wicket between Snyman and Tom Chevalier (17) gave D&T some hope of making up lost ground.

And at 101 for four with four overs to go and Snyman unbeaten on 63, the game was in the balance.

Wolf (2-20) removed Snyman with the first ball of his next over and that was game over as D&T slowed to 121 for seven.

Mike Hunt, who was a member of the Babbacombe team that won the same cup in 1980, was the man-the-match adjudicator and had no hesitation plumping for Medlock to receive the Ted Dickinson Cup.

It was Paignton’s second T20 cup final win of the season. Their 3rdXI lifted the Brockman Cup seven days earlier by beating South Devon.

Paignton 152-5 (H Ward 39, L Medlock 36, D Wolf 21; N Dennis 3-25), Dartington & Totnes 121-7 (J P Snyman 63, T Chevalier 17; L Medlock 4-27). Paignton bt Dartington & Totnes by 31 runs.

The winning Paignton team with their mementoes. Back (left to right): Luke Medlock, Noah Wright, Dan Wolf, Tom Blundell, Charlie Ward. Front: Sam Glanfield, Cole Harford, Harry Ward, Joel Ashworth, Sam Woodcock, Rory Medlock