On September 10, at Sandford CC, the Devon Girls' Cricket League and Devon Women's Softball League came to a competitive and sunny conclusion. 

Early rain meant a delayed start, but by 10am the games were underway on a busy day of cricket.

Under 11 Countdown Softball Final | Teignmouth & Shaldon CC vs Sidmouth CCUnder 15 Super 8s Final | Plymouth CC vs Exeter CC

Under 13 Hardball Power Pairs Final | Bovey Tracey CC vs Heathcoat CCUnder 13s Countdown Softball Final | Exmouth CC vs Exeter CC

Winning both the semi-finals, Exmouth CC provided both teams for the Devon Women's Softball League finals.

All the details of the season's games and league finals can be found here.

All games were played in excellent competitive spirit and were a fitting end to the great season of women and girls' cricket that had gone before. 

Congratulations to all the teams that made it to the finals and well done to the champions of each league. 

League Champions 

Under 11 Countdown Softball League Champions | Teignmouth & Shaldon CC

Under 13 Hardball Power Pairs League | Heathcoat CC

Under 13 Countdown Softball League Champions | Exmouth CC

Under 15 Hardball Super 8s Champions | Plymouth CC

Devon Women's Softball League Champions | Exmouth CC 

During the afternoon picnic, we celebrated the playing achievements of both the girls' hardball leagues and the Devon Women's Cricket League.

Freya Cottam (Plymouth CC) | Under 13 Power Pairs Bowler of the Season 2023

Lily Sargent (Chagford CC) | Under 13 Power Pairs Batter of the Season 2023


Lily Innes (Plympton CC) | Under 15 Super 8s Batter & Bowler of the Season 2023

Devon Women's Cricket League

Megan Hayward (Plymouth CC) | Devon Women's Cricket League Bowler of the Season 2023

Caitlin Rogers (Topsham St James CC) | Devon Women's Cricket League Batter of the Season 2023

Gee Lilii (North Devon CC) | Player's Player Award

This award is voted for by players from teams. It is awarded to the player who shows great sporting behaviours and playing achievements. 

Kat Frost (Cornwood CC) and Sophie Brandom (Topsham St James CC) | Spirit of Cricket Award

This award is given to a player under 18, who is nominated by other clubs for performance and sporting behaviours. 

Once the playing awards were given, Neil Gamble from the Devon County Cricket Club awarded a signed Mooen Ali bat to the Devon Under 18 player who has been considered to be the player who has contributed most to the county team this season. This year the winner was Ellie Bishop.

Devon Cricket would like to thank everyone who made the day possible - players, managers, parents, volunteers and also to Sandford Cricket Club for hosting the event. 

Many thanks to Phil Mallett, Sharon Grigg, Damian Price and Alex Presswell who umpired all day, as well as Ash Roots, R O'Connell, Anthony Cox, Paul Diamond, Paul Woodward and Jo Watson for scoring all the games. 


Officials in Action 

"With the glorious weather, the beautiful setting and competitive cricket, we could not have asked for a better end to the season," said Ann-Marie Presswell. "Plans are already in place for the upcoming winter and the 2024 season. The growth of the women and girls' game is phenomenal and it makes me very proud to be involved in some small way."

If you would like to know more about the women and girls' cricket landscape in Devon, please contact Ann-Marie Presswell.