Abbotskerswell's triumphant team after the 2018 final<br>credit: Conrad Sutcliffe

HOLDERS Abbotskerswell 2ndXI have been drawn at home to Stokeinteignhead in the first round of the 2019 Brockman Cup competition.

Abbots, skippered by Elliott Adams, were in record-breaking form in a 66-run win over Brixham 2ndXI in last year’s final at Torquay CC.

CRASH! Charlie Smout-Cooper belted 88 not out for Abbots – the best individual score in a final of the competition.

BANG: Smout-Cooper and skipper Adams (77) shared a stand of 119, which was a record for any final since the competition began in 1933.

WALLOP: Abbots' 20-over total of 197 for one was also a record in the final.

Stokeinteignhead, beaten finalists in 2016 and 2017, will be aiming to do better than last season whey they slid out in the first-round.

The winners will be a home to either Stoke Gabriel or Torquay 2ndXI in the last eight.

Brixham have withdrawn from the competition as they no longer run a second team.

There’s an all-Torquay derby in prospect in the first round when Barton host Babbacombe, who are the only one of the founder clubs still playing in the competition.

Shaldon Optimists have been drawn at home to Chelston & Kingskerswell. Ipplepen host Dartington & Totnes.

Both semi-finals and the final will be played at Torquay, which has been the home of the final since the first one in 1933 when the Old Manorians defeated the Inland Revenue.

The draw for the semi-finals will be made once all the second-round ties have been played.

First round: Stoke Gabriel v Torquay, Shaldon Optimists v Chelston & Kingskerswell, Abbotskerswell v Stokeingteignhead  (all May 7); Barton v Babbacombe, Ipplepen v Darington & Totnes  (both May 14).

Second round: Barton v Lustleigh, South Devon v Ipplepen (both May 21); Abbotskerswell  v Stoke Gabriel, Chelston & Kingskerswell v Paignton (both May 28).

Semi finals (at Torquay CC): Friday, June 7: Abbotskerswell v Paignton (post) and Monday, June 10: South Devon v Lustleigh (post). Reserve dates (Torquay CC): Friday, June 14: Abbotskerswell v Paignton. Monday, June 17: South Devon v Lustleigh

Final (at Torquay CC): Friday, June 28. Paignton v South Devon

Dick Lear Cup: Thursday, July 11 at Torquay: Aaron Printers Cup winners v Brockman Cup winners.